Travel Log 2.0 : Day 3 (part 2)

What I failed to mention in the last post was : If you wanna see some place specially like Qeshm and Hormoz which are filled with beautiful attractions take your time. Don’t run around from city to city and island to island like I did. I missed a lot of things doing that.

I didn’t want to say goodbye to this beautiful island yet but I had to. I was on a schedule. I got on a fairy to Qeshm Island. This time they let us stand on the deck. It felt awesome. Watching the dolphins and feeling the cold breeze of the sea on my face and seeing all the islands surrounding us.

We finally got to Qeshm. It was 3 o’clock in the afternoon and it was hot. This time I had no Idea where I should go but I didn’t want to take a cab either(in Qeshm cabs are way more expensive). I walked for five minutes only to realize I’m not even sure which direction I’m going. I looked at the map on my phone and realized the city part of the Island were kilometers away and so is the closest natural attractions. So I hauled a cab reluctantly. I went to the city part and there was this old bazaar. I couldn’t think of anything to do and I needed new shoes(my boots got ripped in Hormoz from all the walking, they were really old) so I went in. I strolled around for a bit. found some cheap boots and bought them(wish I hadn’t) and asked around and figured there was a beautiful beach nearby. I walked to that beach which took me 45 minutes to get there. and as soon as I got there rain started pouring down and a powerful wind blew. I knew I couldn’t camp there and went to another beach nearby with a park right beside it. That park was the best place to camp but the rain and the wind made me nervous. Specially since all the people around were running after their tents or looking for a tarp or something to cover it.

After lingering around for a while I figured I had to do it. There was no other way. So I did and as soon as I finished setting up my tent I realized its gonna hold so that was a relief.

I left my stuff in the tent and went for a stroll in the park. I found a backpacker guy with 2 backpacks beside him sitting on a stairwell . I was feeling lonely and I decided to go talk to him. After I made my initial contact he started miming that he doesn’t understand me. I spoke english and he seemed relieved. We talked for a bit and he told me his story.

He was from Georgia and he was hitchhiking in Iran. He said he wanted to travel the world this way and this was the 3rd country he had traveled to. His friend was an Iranian girl that was traveling with him for a few days and she was high and had left him by himself for the better part of the day. So long story short they setup their camp beside mine and we talked for hours. His name was Irakli and I’m glad I met him. I slept through a small hurricane that night but my tent held its own and I was feeling proud of myself for the day that I had.

Leave a Reply

